United Airlines reviews


  Overview    Seats    Entertainment     Experience    Frequent Flyer    Lounges    Routes    History    Tips & Web    Food    Drink  

Airline reviews United Airlines Passenger Reviews

  Would you like your say on United Airlines? If you would like to contribute, please write your own review & trip report. Reviews are contributors opinions alone, but as the editor I may cut comments violating the terms & conditions ).
Airreviews opinion
United Airlines: a two star airline 2 Star Rating: not the best
International Business Class
Boeing 747 half the seats face backwards, in rows 4 abreast
Lounges substandard, with few facilities.
International Economy Class
Boeing 747 offers one of the least impressive services of any long-haul carrier.
Entertainment bad. Very few seatback TVs. Poor choice of films and TV where offered
Seat is sub-par, and on some aircraft very tired.
Food & Drinks so-so food: not really the best. No free bar: charge for alcohol.
Domestic
Aircraft often are overbooked, with a high likelihood of being bumped.
Frequent Flyer gives miles on some cheap fares .
Entertainment Live satelite TV on ex-Continental aircraft.
Food & Drinks are expensive. No free bar in economy.
First Class No free food except for longest flights.
Your reviews
United Airlines
Rated 3.1 out of 10 from 32 reviews
Recommended by 45% of reviewers (5 for, 6 against, 5 abstain)
Seat
 3.8
Food
 3.9
Drink
 4.8
IFE
 3.2
Service
 4.6
Value
 4.6
Longhaul
2.4
Econ
1
PE
0
Biz
4.5
First
Domestic
3.6
Econ
1.5
PE
4
First
stars  total
0-1
 9
2-3
 4
4-5
 2
6-7
 0
8-9
 2
10
 1


More reviews►
United Airlines Reviews 16 reviews, showing 1 to 10
1 2
United Airlines Review: worst experience in LAX
 
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Lax terminal 7 was been renovated which made the terminal very bad with few signage and people knowing where things are. Nearly missed my flight due to no announcements been made the club lounge was a zoo with everybody buying their way in and then flights were overbooked newer use united until the renovations at lax are finished in the terminals 7 and good service and crew once onboard though on a newer A320. All soft drinks are free including tea and coffee and snacks pretzels and a dutch stroopwaffel.
DomesticPremium Economy
AircraftAirbus A320
RouteLos Angeles
      toSan Francisco
OnSeptember 2016
Bymarcelo
18th Oct 16
      
United Airlines Review: No in flight entertainment
  +4 votes
Overall: 2/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Flew flight 201 houston to Honolulu. Pd. big to fly with family including 3 kids under 11 yrs. and found absolutely NO flight entertainment for 8 hrs. No movies, no direct TV, no radios, no plugins, etc. my kids don't have IPads or IPhones and ours weren't downloaded with United app beforehand; we certainly weren't notified by airlines on ticket or before boarding. Longest flight ever!! Now, we're dreading the trip back.
LonghaulEconomy
OnAugust 2014
ByCheryl
3rd Aug 14United States
      
United Airlines Review: On board first class flying ensured
  -4 votes
Overall: 10/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Last flight from San Francisco to Beijing applying Business Class was really friendly. No idea about the coach though (one factor surely, economy class can never be just the right selection for extended routes). Good service, food, comfy seat and lots of entertainment are fair plenty to make it a fine Business class. I won't experience any suspicion riding in United Airlines overseas business class anytime. anywhere.
LonghaulEconomy
AircraftBoeing 747
RouteSan Francisco
      toBeijing (Peking)
OnApril 2014
ByDoyle
20th Apr 14Australia
      
United Airlines Review: International flight
  +3 votes
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
An awful experience on a 11hour flight. I would call it abuse of travelers. Food is not edible, served in such a dirty, careless manner. The so called "dinner" I would not feed my dog with it. The "breakfast" was even worse. We pay over 1200 per roundway flight, with that amount we deserve decent treatment. Shame. A mass of people crowded on a large plane with seats so narrow and rows so close to each other it was a terrible. "Economy" should not mean being treated like cattle. This ticket costs over 1200. If other airlines can create decent conditions for travelers, so can the United.
LonghaulEconomy
OnNovember 2013
ByAnna Hardy
18th Nov 13Australia
      
United Airlines Review: flight experience in first
  +4 votes
Overall: 3/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
al i can say is a total mess the domestic first class was not too great back in 2011 the international leg in first was great.i will never fly with them again
DomesticFirst Class
AircraftBoeing 767
RouteChicago
      toAmsterdam
OnMay 2009
Bymarcelo rozengurt
12th Nov 13United States
      
United Airlines Review: Worst Experience Ever
  +3 votes
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Was on standby with a friend for Flight 5527 from San Francisco to Burbank. My name was first on the list, my friend was second, another passenger was third. When the crotchety United agent called my name I said to my friend that she should go ahead of me. The agent yelled at my "YOU BOARD THIS PLANE NOW OR YOU DON'T GET ON!" in front of a gate full of people. That was uncalled for. As a paying customer I DESERVE some courtesy and respect. NO ONE deserves to be treated that way. I got an explanation later after that humiliating outburst. No wonder United has such a deplorable reputation.
DomesticEconomy
RouteSan Francisco
OnApril 2013
ByJoan Igawa
22nd Apr 13United States
      
United Airlines Review: Nothing to Write Home About
  +2 votes
Overall: 5/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
I flew from Rochester to Dulles then on to Boston. Caught the first flight out at about 6 AM and arrived 20 minutes early in Dulles! The staff was very courteous, although it did not seem as though they were entirely happy to be on such an early flight. From Dulles to Boston, things were more or less the same. Staff members were very courteous but distant and spent a lot of time talking in the front of the plane. We touched down in Boston an hour late due to turbulence and averting a storm system. The one low point of the flight was that no food, not even snacks, were offered. Luckily I had bought a sandwich in Dulles so it did not pose a problem for myself, but those around me were complaining about the lack of snacks.
DomesticEconomy
AircraftAirbus A320
OnJanuary 2013
ByKyle Jensen
19th Feb 13United States
      
United Airlines Review: got to pay, didn't get to go!
  +4 votes
Overall: 0/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Never fly United Airlines! I spent two years saving for a cruise of the Eastern Mediterranian. I saved all my vacation time for the whole year. We boked our flight and received seats, booked special meals. The morning of our departure we tried to check in and found our seats were cancelled. They had not made a mistake and not processed part of the payment. They had cancelled or tickets without informing us. There were no availiable seats left. We we were bounced from person to person and department to department. Frequently, we were disconnected. There were no flights available that would arrive before the departure of the cruise. They refused to reimburse us or give us a letter for our travel insurance. We had to pay for the entire amount of our trip without going anywhere!
LonghaulEconomy
OnNovember 2012
ByGina
4th Nov 12United States
      
United Airlines Review: I upgraded to 1st class and was put in economy!!
  +1 votes
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
I have travelled all over the world and have NEVER experienced such horrific customer service as I have with United. We purchased economy plus tickets for a birthday celebration to Maui. On March 31 I logged online to check in, I was asked if I would like to upgrade to First Class for my return flight to Austin for a total of 1700. I decided to upgrade as my husband is 6'5 tall and the economy plus was still cramped for him. I entered all credit card info and ordered the upgrades and was given an error code. So I went through the whole process again and received an error code. My third attempt worked. Concerned that I was charged three times I tried to call UA Customer service number and was on hold for 45 minutes and eventually gave up. Ridiculous! We flew first class from Maui to LAX. Once we completed our three hour layover at LAX we were dismayed to discover our seats on flight 5532 to Austin were in economy plus! I mentioned to the flight attendant we had paid an additional 1700 to be in first class (I believe her name was Shonda?) She merely shrugged and said, "You'll have to talk to customer service about that", I asked her if I could at least receive complimentary snacks and drinks and she said, "Not back here you won't", turned and walked away. Unacceptable response! Then as Shonda (sp) was doing the emergency procedures demonstration, she looked down and saw I was looking for something in my purse on the floor and curtly barked at me, " You gonna have to put that in the bulk head". I handed her my purse and said calmly, "You need to work on your customer service skills". She stopped her demonstration and in front of the other passengers said loudly, "Do you want me to stop the plane and walk you back into the airport so you can talk to customer service because it's not MY fault your tickets are wrong". I was absolutely STUNNED to be spoken to in such a derogatory and threatening way. I told her no, I would deal with it later and she said, "You sure? You're not going to complain and cause me problems during the flight?!" Stunned and embarrassed I fought back tears and told her I would be fine. I've never been treated like that before. And after speaking to the other attendant, Shonda eventually came up and asked if we'd like a drink and a snack. she should NOT be working in customer service. I have been on the phone now for 75 minutes, spoken with three people outsourced in India to get refunded for my LAX to Austin flight only to be told NO by the supervisor and to try another number! I will NEVER fly UA again and hope Amex will get me my refund. UA needs to check out Lufhansa, Quantas and Jet Blue and learn some lessons about customer service and stop hiring thugs as flight attendants.
LonghaulFirst Class
RouteLos Angeles
OnApril 2012
ByTracy
4th Apr 12United States
      
United Airlines Review: Changes for ElitePremier Silver Members
  +4 votes
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
The downgrading of premiere status, by no more offering to choose the seat in Economy Plus at the time of booking in effort to sell the premiere seating to those without status is causing me to forget about my loyality for UA. I am very disappointed. To get the desired seat for my next flights I was paying for them now, but for the future I am on a search for alternatives and I hope, that many Silver Elite Members are doing the same. In addition the 2nd free checkin luggage for Silver Elite Members is no more available, but has to be paid with 70 each way now!And to be hold over hours (!) at a phonecall on waiting line is disrespecting their own customers!For me the mileage plus program has degenerated to useless since I no longer get an economyplus seat at purchase. The number of seats available for upgrade with miles is so limited they are almost impossible to get, and that's the only worth for me to spend miles and now this downgrading of Economy Plus in addition!
LonghaulPremium Economy
RouteMunich
      toWashington Dulles (IAD)
OnMarch 2012
ByGospelbird
23rd Mar 12
      
Next Page►
 
1 2

Airreview Add Review
Submit your own review
Overall score: Roll over & click to set score Select HERE or below: 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Title:
Review:

Name: Email:
(Your Email address is not displayed on the site)   

Optional information: Would you recommend this airline to a friend?
Class: Distance:

Optional Ratings: You don't have to tell us about this, but it would help make your review stand out
Food: Roll over & click for score Drink: Roll over & click for score
IFE: Roll over & click for score Seat: Roll over & click for score
Cabin Crew: Roll over & click for score Value for Money: Roll over & click for score

Optional Details: Leave blank if your're in a hurry - but it helps if you want to let us know
Aircraft:

Where did you fly from and to?
to:

Enter the 3 letter IATA Airport Code (This information is optional - leave blank if you do not know it)

I live in:        When you flew:
Optional Photos: Add some images to illustrate your review
Image 1:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 2:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 3:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 4:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 5:
Link to image:
Description:
Enter the URL (website address) where the images are stored. You should only link to photos you own, and for which you own the copyright. We are working on hosting images too, but don't have that capacity right now.
Add more detailed ratings of food, IFE & seat
Add more information about your trip
Add photographs


  Return to Editor's review & opinion on United Airlines