Swiss Air Lines reviews


  Overview    Seats    Entertainment     Experience    Frequent Flyer    Lounges    Routes    History    Tips & Web    Food    Drink  

Airline reviews Swiss Air Lines Passenger Reviews

  Would you like your say on Swiss Air Lines? If you would like to contribute, please write your own review & trip report. Reviews are contributors opinions alone, but as the editor I may cut comments violating the terms & conditions ).
Airreviews opinion
Swiss Air Lines: a three star airline 3 Star Rating: OK, trying hard
Seatback TV very good, AVOD in all classes, free headphones.
Frequent Flyer is Miles&More from Lufthansa. Hard to get status, few miles on cheap fares.
International Business Class
Seat lies on a slope: uncomfortable on long flights, but good layout allows plenty of room
Lounges very good at the Zurich hub, with the worlds longest airport bar.
International Economy Class
Seat is sub-par, and on some aircraft very tired.
Food & Drinks are good, with a free bar.
Shorthaul
Aircraft are standard Airbus produccts, with moveable Biz/Econ seating
Entertainment No IFE shorthaul.
Food & Drinks No free bar in economy.
Your reviews
Swiss Air Lines
Rated 2.9 out of 10 from 26 reviews
Recommended by 33% of reviewers (3 for, 6 against, 4 abstain)
Seat
 5
Food
 5.1
Drink
 6.1
IFE
 4
Service
 5.4
Value
 3.6
Longhaul
2.5
Econ
2.3
Biz
0
First
Shorthaul
3
Econ
5
Biz
Domestic
0
Econ
stars  total
0-1
 7
2-3
 3
4-5
 1
6-7
 2
8-9
 1
10
 0


More reviews►
Swiss Air Lines Reviews 13 reviews, showing 1 to 10
1 2
Swiss Air Lines Review: Swiss International Airlines A Dramatic Experience
  -1 votes
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
I flew from Paris to Singapore via Zurich on 11 September LX645 leaving 2045. I had checked in online prior within 24 hours and chose window seats for both flights. I am very sure everyone knows seat selection plays a critical role in a long haul flight, for various reasons and for me, I do not like to be disturbed when I'm sleeping with people going to the bathroom in the middle of the flight. My friend and I reached Paris airport (CDG T1) way before and started queuing at 1800 even before the checkin counter for Swiss Air was opened. We were 2nd in line, and upon reaching the counter, to be told that the flight was overbooked when the service staff knew we were flying to Singapore. He offered a solution to fly us with Air France given we were bumped from the flight without much alternatives, and were told to come back in an hour's time when the checkin counter would be closing. I had chosen to fly with Swiss Air because I have heard reviews on great service and flight quality but if you are offering to fly me with another carrier, I would have just chosen to fly with Air France in the first place without going through so much headaches at the checkin counter. So we heeded the guy's suggestion to come back in another hour and we were on 'standby' list. But what I don't appreciate is the attitude the service staff who wasn't even apologetic that we were in this situation at all. He was the duty manager at the period of time but he was not providing the best solution to our benefit, but instead whichever solution that he thinks work best for him by telling us repeatedly he cannot do anything more for us with his very limited powers even though he is the guy who can make the decisions. He even told us to write a complaint to Swiss Air. I was appalled and even amused by his reasoning. A flight that is overbooked is not a passenger's fault, and I think we have the right to reclaim our seats, plus I had the screenshot to confirm I was checked in with seats allocated. I am a frequent traveler and had flown with many International airlines but I had never had such a bad experience before. I hope you can understand the unnecessary stress and unhappiness Swiss Air had given us in the hour of waiting, and the remaining 12 hours of flight time back to Singapore, and I would think much more improvement would need to be done as an airline that provides good service and high standards of quality.
LonghaulEconomy
RouteParis - Charles De Gaulle
      toSingapore - Changi
OnSeptember 2016
ByIrisg
30th Sep 16Singapore
      
Swiss Air Lines Review: Insulted and ill treated by Swiss Air
  +1 votes
Overall: 0/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Recently State Consumer Dispute Redressal Forum, New Delhi passed an order in a case against United Airlines and Swiss Airlines to the effect that Consumer Complaint against Airlines are maintainable before District Consumer Forum, New Delhi. In fact, last year I booked the Business Class tickets for my journey from Mumbai to Philadelphia via Zurich and back from Newark to Mumbai, but while returning to Mumbai, all of a sudden my name was deleted from list of passengers and I, despite being Gold Status holder Star Airlines, insulted and ill treated by Senior Staff of Swiss Airlines at Newark Airport and compelled to travel in Economy Class even though I am a known patient of Slip Disk. On returning to India I filed Consumer Complaint against Swiss Airlines and United Airlines, which is pending.
LonghaulBusiness Class
On
BySAURABH KALANI
23rd Jan 16
      
Swiss Air Lines Review: Worst airline in the business.
 
Overall: 0/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Officially the worst airline experience we have ever encountered, and we fly a lot! From London to Geneva, we were delayed 7 hours!!!! and stuck on the plane with 1 cup of water and a sandwich for the entire duration while we waited and were treated like cattle at best. The staff were rude and arrogant and no apologies were forthcoming. We had a small family (2 toddlers) and no empathy was shown for our situation, keeping them entertained and in their seats for 7 hours is not easy. We were then diverted to Zurich, where we were met with even less help and more staff rudeness. The manner in which the whole situation was handled was appalling. We ended up paying for our own hotel and transfers with not a care shown from Swissair staff. Our return trip was even worse, our flight from Geneva to London was cancelled late in the piece, they then lost our luggage and again showed no compassion or care. Their staff are highly arrogant and unhelpful, the worst we have ever encountered. I would never fly Swissair again and recommend you do the same. They are the most unhelpful and arrogant airline in the business and should be ashamed at their lack of customer care and service. Never again!
ShorthaulEconomy
AircraftAirbus A320
RouteGeneva
      toLondon - Heathrow
OnDecember 2014
BySteve
26th Dec 15
      
Swiss Air Lines Review: Customer Service Nightmare
 
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
We arrived at the airport, but were not allowed to fly. Few Americans (including us) knew that you have to have a passport valid for 6 months to travel to Switzerland. Ours expired in 4 months, and we were not allowed to fly. Not once did Swiss Air tell us about this rule. It was not printed on any of the notifications, tickets, confirmation emails, nothing. They ruined our vacation, would not refund or credit us, and their customer service was stubborn, mean and terrible to deal with. Total nightmare.
LonghaulEconomy
On
ByHeather Gibble
30th Mar 15United States
      
Swiss Air Lines Review: excellent service, roomy biz seat
 
Overall: 7/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Overall very nice flight. FAs were very polite and friendly, and the seat nice and roomy (and it does lie completely flat in the A340). Got the sense I was alone when in fact was surrounded by other pax. A340 a tad old, but very well maintained (as you'd expect from the Swiss). Food was quite good, and portions plentiful
LonghaulBusiness Class
AircraftAircraft: 340
RouteSan Francisco
      toZurich
OnOctober 2014
BySteve
15th Mar 15United States
      
Swiss Air Lines Review: Bad seat booking policy
 
Overall: 3/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
I purchased a Swiss Ticket from US via Zurich to Cape Town. Most of the seats were not bookable via Swiss. The one that was they asked an additional 100 USD for a seat reservation. In a transcontinental flight this is unacceptable once the ticket has been purchased. They woo you to buy with a price that is not reflective of the real price. Buyer beware, this is not a less expensive ticket just an extortion racket.
LonghaulEconomy
AircraftAircraft: A33
RouteZurich
      toCopenhagen
OnNovember 2014
Bys stewart
11th Nov 14United States
      
Swiss Air Lines Review: Well below meeting my expectations
 
Overall: 3/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
I was initially excited about travelling between Zurich and Hong Kong with Swiss Air but the in flight entertainment did not work and this made the flight seem to last an eternity. Coupled with this were some very uncomfortable seats and nasty food particularly the omelette. The service was polite and cheerful. The experience of flying to Hong Kong spoiled my holiday as it left me exhausted and dreading the return trip. On my return home when I contacted Swiss Air to ask for a partial refund for the broken IFE, they replied that because I had arrived safely I was not due any reduction. They seemed to forget that heavily advertised as part of their service is also IFE (essential for longhaul) and good food reasons I had initially selected them!
LonghaulEconomy
OnSeptember 2014
ByAndrea
17th Sep 14
      
Swiss Air Lines Review: The worst airline flying today, I have NO doubt
  -1 votes
Overall: 0/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Swiss is without a doubt the worst airline on which I have had the displeasure of flying. We paid for three seats in Business Class, and I can't believe I didn't fly my usual choice, To start, Swiss show a picture of a thronelike seat on their website... and represent that as their Business Class seat. But there are just a few of these in the cabin, and the other seats are different. And YOU can't get the seats they show on the web site.... only their senior frequent flyers. So my wife and baby were stuck in a middle seat, with an unfortunate stranger next to them, despite me having reserved the lone window seat online. The seats themselves are lumpy and uncomfortable, and the inflight entertainment is the worst I've ever seen. It is painfully slow, clunky, and simply doesn't work much of the time (we took two longhaul legs, Zurich to Singapore and Hong Kong to Zurich and this was true on both legs). The food is ok, though not a PATCH on what you'd get on Emirates, Qatar, or one of the first tier airlines. Swiss have no lounges of their own outside of Switzerland, so in Hong Kong we ended up being sent to a packed, noisy pay per entry lounge, which had no seats, was utter chaos, and had one type of beer in the fridge, Skol (you can't make this up). The worst insults were yet to come. When we disembarked in Zurich, and were told with no apology at all that we'd miss our connection to Manchester because Swiss were late arriving... my wife left her bag on the plane accidentally in our rush to get off. FIVE MINUTES later we told a Swiss ground employee that the bag had been left in Business Class, and would they mind retrieving it. Nope. They passed me a card for a third party lost and found company called Swissport, and was told to file a web report with them when I was back in the UK. Naturally, Swissport refuse to speak live, and send you an email from a noreply email address. Two days later and still no info on what should have been the easiest thing in the world to solve....ask the gate agent to pop back onto the plane and retrieve the bag. The employees at Swiss must not be paid, as they are the least friendly and least helpful people I have dealt with in many, many years. In short, I wouldn't fly Swiss again if they paid me. I fly Business or First several times a year, and they have lost me, and anyone I know, forever. I can see why their predecessor went out of business. This new abomination of an airline sprung up to take over for the old, bankrupt Swiss Air... and in my view, it is WORSE. Avoid at all cost.
LonghaulBusiness Class
OnAugust 2014
ByRobinson
16th Aug 14Australia
      
Swiss Air Lines Review: Terrible Experience
  +1 votes
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
I had a recent flight with Swiss from Boston to Zurich. It was indeed my worst flight experience. Two months before the flight, I have requested a basinet for my daughter and seats that will be close to the basinet. On the phone, Swiss Airlines representative told that he arranged the seats close to the basinet. However, on the plane we found out that our seat are far away from the basinet and seperate from each other. Additionally, the cabin crew was very rude. When I requested a toy for my daughter, the hostess reacted with a very angry tone saying 'do not you see I am busy??' She continued to show the same disrespectful behaviors during the flight and I reported the incidence to the head of cabin crew. Instead of apologizing, the head of cabin crew advised me to use another airline next time.The food was awful as well. They brought a pasta, which lacked any sort of variety and was tasting terrible
LonghaulEconomy
OnSeptember 2012
ByOsman
28th Sep 12
      
Swiss Air Lines Review: Great flight, great service
  +1 votes
Overall: 7/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Great flight on Swiss just last week, flying most of the way across Europe. Really enjoyed the friendly service, and the way my Senator status was picked up on.Got to enjoy the great new lounge in Zurich: it has much improved over the years, and it makes it well worth making a stop over here. Decent sandwiches on the way to Athens, and a good breakfast on the way back.All in all couldn't fault it.
ShorthaulEconomy
AircraftAirbus A320
RouteDublin
      toAthens
OnFebruary 2012
ByIan Tomlinson
27th Mar 12Ireland
      
Next Page►
 
1 2

Airreview Add Review
Submit your own review
Overall score: Roll over & click to set score Select HERE or below: 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Title:
Review:

Name: Email:
(Your Email address is not displayed on the site)   

Optional information: Would you recommend this airline to a friend?
Class: Distance:

Optional Ratings: You don't have to tell us about this, but it would help make your review stand out
Food: Roll over & click for score Drink: Roll over & click for score
IFE: Roll over & click for score Seat: Roll over & click for score
Cabin Crew: Roll over & click for score Value for Money: Roll over & click for score

Optional Details: Leave blank if your're in a hurry - but it helps if you want to let us know
Aircraft:

Where did you fly from and to?
to:

Enter the 3 letter IATA Airport Code (This information is optional - leave blank if you do not know it)

I live in:        When you flew:
Optional Photos: Add some images to illustrate your review
Image 1:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 2:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 3:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 4:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 5:
Link to image:
Description:
Enter the URL (website address) where the images are stored. You should only link to photos you own, and for which you own the copyright. We are working on hosting images too, but don't have that capacity right now.
Add more detailed ratings of food, IFE & seat
Add more information about your trip
Add photographs


  Return to Editor's review & opinion on Swiss Air Lines