AirlinesStarAllianceoneWorldSkyteamOthersNewsSeatmapsLoungesForumContact

Air China Reviews

OverviewFleetEntertainmentExperienceFrequentFlyerLoungesRoutesHistoryTipsFoodDrinkYourReviewsDiscuss
Airline reviews Air China Passenger Reviews

Air China passenger reviews

  Would you like your say on Air China? If you would like to contribute, please write your own review & trip report. Reviews are contributors opinions alone, but as the editor I may cut comments violating the terms & conditions ).
Airreviews opinion
Air China: a one star airline 1 Star Rating: bad
International Business Class
Seat if new is a flatbed, but recliner on some aircraft.
Food is odd: poor western imitations; Chinese better
Lounges substandard, with few facilities.
International Economy Class
Aircraft can be new western planes.
Seat is OK, but not leading the pack.
Entertainment Few aircraft have seatback TV
Food & Drinks so-so food: very poor bar.
Frequent Flyer Scheme is a Star Alliance member, gives few points on cheap fares.
Your reviews
Air China
Rated 3 out of 10 from 46 reviews
Recommended by 37% of reviewers (6 for, 10 against, 7 abstain)
Seat
 3.7
Food
 3.8
Drink
 3.8
IFE
 3.1
Service
 3.7
Value
 4.7
Longhaul
2.9
Econ
4.5
Biz
Shorthaul
3
Econ
0
First
Domestic
0
Econ
0
First
stars  total
0-1
 11
2-3
 6
4-5
 2
6-7
 4
8-9
 1
10
 1


More reviews►
Air China Reviews 23 reviews, showing 1 to 10
1 2 3
Air China Review: difficulty understanding english
 
Overall: 4/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
if you speak chinese the cabin crew completly understand if your western dont expect to much or indeed anything because they very often dont speak very fluent in english.having said that the flights are well priced and modern planes,
LonghaulEconomy
AircraftAirbus A320
RouteLondon - Heathrow
      toBeijing (Peking)
OnJanuary 2019
Bymarcelo
18th Jan 19United Kingdom
      
Air China Review: Sub standard
 
Overall: 2/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
I travel a lot(over 50 flightsyr). Travel all Airlines. Air China online check in is the worst! Sometimes can't complete after 1 hr of trying. Also terrible at rewarding points despite entering them at booking & checkin often have to apply for credit. Food is low end compared to other airlines. Planes are usually ok and no issues with flight attendants. Only reason I have flown with them is the Star Alliance points but rethinking that feeling the frustration of dealing with Air China is not worth the Star Alliance points.
ShorthaulEconomy
RouteShanghai
OnDecember 2018
ByTom
9th Dec 18Canada
      
Air China Review: Better than expected.
 
Overall: 6/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Third time on Air China now, Beijing to Manila in economy. Flight departed an hour late but down to air traffic control rather than the airline. Quite satisfactory for a full service airline, the aircraft was a newer A330 and had decent in flight entertainment which, whilst not at Emirates or SIA level still provided a few interesting choices.The food was satisfactory with a nice salmon and potato salad starter.Whilst not in the same class as QATAR Airways or SIA, I have been perfectly happy so far given the usually lower price. So far nothing has gone wrong so I cant comment on disruption handling which is what sets the best airlines apart from the others.I will definitely consider them for future flights as long as the price and timings are right. Unless the extra cost to fly on a premium carrier is very low Ill save my money and fly on Air China instead.
ShorthaulEconomy
AircraftAirbus A330
RouteBeijing (Peking)
      toManila
OnMarch 2018
ByK OConnor
13th Mar 18Singapore
      
Air China Review: Appalling Service by Air China
 
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Please dont ever fly with Air China. They have the worst customer service I have ever experienced. I paid for our seats online prior to leaving Canada and had to make some minor changes to our seat selection before we left and they still have yet to reimburse me 300 Canadian. That was 6 weeks ago. I have called the customer service line 7 different times and have been given 7 different excuses. I refuse to allow this to happen and will continue to call until I have my money back. On another note, while we were away I was injured and had to have surgery. The surgeon wrote me a fit to fly letter explaining that I must have the capability to lay down for my flight home (he was concerned about a blood clot) and that I required a business class seat. I was refused this even though business class had over 10 available seats that remained empty for the 11 hour flight back to Canada. I was very obviously stitched, bruised, and injured with a cast on my leg and crutches and each and every member of Air China refused to help me with changing seats. They all flat out said No, there is nothing we can do to help you. Those were their exact words!! If I can stop even just one person from flying with this despicable company than I can sleep a little better at night.Please don't ever fly with Air China.
LonghaulPremium Economy
AircraftBoeing 747
RouteVancouver
      toBangkok Suvarnabhumi
OnFebruary 2017
ByLMoizis
10th Mar 17Canada
      
Air China Review: APPALLING AIRLINE AND CUSTOMER SERVICE: NEVER USE
 
Overall: 0/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
PLEASE READ BEFORE USING AIR CHINA: NEVER EVER USE THEM, WORST AIRLINE EVER.I've never written a review before but I'm so appalled by Air China's service that I need to warn others. My flight from Bangkok to Beijing was delayed due to snow in Beijing which meant that I missed my connecting flight from China to London. I wasn't mad at this as bad weather conditions can't be helped but the staff at Air China were unhelpful beyond belief, weren't accommodating or understanding at all and didn't even have the customer service to even apologise for the inconvenience! 10 stranded Brits were absolutely appalled by the way Air China handed the inconvenience and that all Air China did was put us on the same flight the next day and barked at us that they would arrange a hotel for us. To make things worse not only could Air China then not retrieve our luggage which we asked for after we waited for it for over TWO HOURS telling us rudely to just "wait more". It took them a total of 4 HOURS from when we landed, to take and just leave us at a hotel without even translating what had happened to the hotel staff. We all then were left to argue against the hotel staff about an agreement that they had in place with Air China which was that it was two people to a double room regardless of who, and if we wanted a single room to ourselves we had to pay, which meant that we had to stay in a room with complete strangers! Absolutely ridiculous and unsafe! The hotel staff were equally not accommodating or understanding at all, we were provided with food but were only allowed one bottle of water per person for the night.The next day, we asked Air China if anything could be done for the massive inconvenience such as an upgrade, free access to the first class lounge which we just got a rude "no" to. I'm disgusted at the way Air China operate and their rude staff and couldn't believe that they treated us like the inconvenience was our fault. It was so stressful and looking back to the events, it's actually unbelievable how we've been treated. When I asked to speak to the manager about how long we had to wait for our transport to our hotel, he just barked at me in limited English telling me to just "wait, it will be soon". It's absolutely disgusting customer service and attitude, I urge people to not use them as it is not worth saving a bit of money to be treated in this way and ruining your holiday.
LonghaulEconomy
OnFebruary 2017
ByMia Collett
24th Feb 17United Kingdom
      
Air China Review: Beijing To Houston
 
Overall: 7/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Missed my flight from Xiamen to Shanghai due to equipment issues, so United flew me to Beijing and put me on Air China to Houston! Everything from service to meals to movies were top notch! Plus, you can hang around the service station and drink all the tea, beer and wine you can absorb! The 13hr trip went real fast!!I am now going back to Xiamen via Beijing this week on Air China, instead of United! Th United flight is an old 747 with small seats and lousy service! Will update!
LonghaulEconomy
AircraftBoeing 777
RouteBeijing (Peking)
      toHouston
OnJuly 2016
ByLandon Kent
12th Sep 16United States
      
Air China Review: mixed experiences
 
Overall: 2/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
I flew with my wife and two small children from Frankfurt to Ulan Bator (UB, Mongolia) via Beijing. Air China could not seat us together! This is the minimum I would expect from an airline. At the end a friendly passenger changed places with us. The food was not really heated up, they had no milk on board for the children. The service in general was poor. What a difference for the flight from Beijing to UB. Friendly crew, even the seat belt for the baby has been at the seat. Meal o.k. for two hours flight. We asked ourselves: is this a different airline?Return flight: Two hours delayed, again friendly crew UB to Beijing. Beijing to Frankfurt: meals o.k., crew friendly. BUT: No water at the toilettes!!! You had to wash your hands at the galley!!! I assume: somebody has forgotten to fill the watertanks. UNACCEPTABLE
LonghaulEconomy
RouteFrankfurt
OnAugust 2016
ByMartin
9th Sep 16Gemany
      
Air China Review: Don't transit in Shanghai
 
Overall: 4/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
On June 30 July I flew from Milan to Shanghai, arriving at 6.00 am. I had a continuing flight to Taipei at 11.30. I was forced by the immigration officials to go through immigration twice, even though I only wanted to transit and did not want to leave the airport. It took me two hours to get to the gate for the flight to Taipei. This is probably not Air China's fault. I never had this problem before. In Guangzhou it just takes 2 minutes to get to the gate for the continuing flight. When I checked in in Milan, I was not warned about this. When I was standing in the immigration line in Shanghai, I asked one of the officials if I was in the right line and she said I was. I did not see any sign saying where transit passengers should go. If my continuing flight had been at 8.00. I would have missed it.
LonghaulEconomy
On
ByKenneth Palmer
2nd Jul 16
      
Air China Review: Rude customer service personnel
 
Overall: 0/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Wanted to prove air China provides good customer service but they really sucks. Will never fly this airlines if I can help it.
LonghaulEconomy
On
ByChin ying
28th May 16United States
      
Air China Review: Air China BKK-PEK New York
  -1 votes
Overall: 10/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
I flew Bangkok to New York via Beijing several times over the past few years. I am very happy with Air China as all my flights are on time and there is nothing different from other 5 stars airlines. Considering the low price tickets with this quality, I would strongly recommend Air China.
LonghaulEconomy
RouteBangkok Suvarnabhumi
      toBeijing (Peking)
On
BySuthep
9th May 16United States
      
Next Page►
 
1 2 3

Airreview Add Review
Submit your own review
Overall score: Roll over & click to set score Select HERE or below: 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Title:
Review:

Name: Email:
(Your Email address is not displayed on the site)   

Optional information: Would you recommend this airline to a friend?
Class: Distance:

Optional Ratings: You don't have to tell us about this, but it would help make your review stand out
Food: Roll over & click for score Drink: Roll over & click for score
IFE: Roll over & click for score Seat: Roll over & click for score
Cabin Crew: Roll over & click for score Value for Money: Roll over & click for score

Optional Details: Leave blank if your're in a hurry - but it helps if you want to let us know
Aircraft:

Where did you fly from and to?
to:

Enter the 3 letter IATA Airport Code (This information is optional - leave blank if you do not know it)

I live in:        When you flew:
Optional Photos: Add some images to illustrate your review
Image 1:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 2:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 3:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 4:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 5:
Link to image:
Description:
Enter the URL (website address) where the images are stored. You should only link to photos you own, and for which you own the copyright. We are working on hosting images too, but don't have that capacity right now.
Add more detailed ratings of food, IFE & seat
Add more information about your trip
Add photographs


  Return to Editor's review & opinion on Air China