AirlinesStarAllianceoneWorldSkyteamOthersNewsSeatmapsLoungesForumContact

Virgin Atlantic Reviews

OverviewFleetEntertainmentExperienceFrequentFlyerLoungesRoutesHistoryTipsFoodDrinkYourReviewsDiscuss
Airline reviews Virgin Atlantic Passenger Reviews

Virgin Atlantic passenger reviews

  Would you like your say on Virgin Atlantic? If you would like to contribute, please write your own review & trip report. Reviews are contributors opinions alone, but as the editor I may cut comments violating the terms & conditions ).
Airreviews opinion
Virgin Atlantic: a four star airline 4 Star Rating: OK, not bad
International Business Class
Seat is good and flat, but on some aircraft very tired.
Food is good, and with an in flight bar
Lounges amazing, with great facilities.
International Economy Class
Seat is OK, but not leading the pack.
Entertainment Ok, not the best, but free and AVOD
Food & Drinks so-so food: not really the best. Free bar is good.
Aircraft can be quite tired.
Your reviews
Virgin Atlantic
Rated 3.6 out of 10 from 38 reviews
Recommended by 33% of reviewers (5 for, 10 against, 4 abstain)
Seat
 3.7
Food
 4
Drink
 4.2
IFE
 4.5
Service
 3.9
Value
 4.2
Longhaul
3.3
Econ
4.2
PE
2.3
Biz
stars  total
0-1
 7
2-3
 4
4-5
 4
6-7
 2
8-9
 3
10
 0


More reviews►
Virgin Atlantic Reviews 19 reviews, showing 1 to 10
1 2
Virgin Atlantic Review: Mr Edward pepper
 
Overall: 9/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
My recent trip to Miami from London was an absolute pleasure because of the way my wife and I and indeed everyone on board was treated by the wonderful staff of virgin Atlantic. I would not hesitate to travel with this airline anywhere in the world and thank you for making our holiday such a wonderful experience.
LonghaulEconomy
AircraftAircraft: 787
RouteLondon - Heathrow
      toMiami
OnJune 2017
ByPepper
27th Jun 17Ireland
      
Virgin Atlantic Review: bad airline bad service
 
Overall: 2/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
really other than the lounge cabin staff don't care about their passangers the food was disgusting virgin atlantic never again
LonghaulFirst Class
AircraftAircraft: 787
RouteLos Angeles
      toLondon - Heathrow
OnMay 2016
Bymarcelo rozengurt
2nd Jan 17
      
Virgin Atlantic Review: Not so good with Refunds
 
Overall: 0/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Made a reservation and cancelled within an hour. Their policy is if paid by Credit Card the refund is within 7 day. Here I am at 12 days, no refund just a run around. Very disappointed in Virgin as I have flown with then numerous times to London.
LonghaulEconomy
RouteLas Vegas
      toLondon - Heathrow
OnDecember 2016
ByMaggie
15th Dec 16United States
      
Virgin Atlantic Review: Not so good with Refunds
 
Overall: 0/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Made a reservation and cancelled within an hour. Their policy is if paid by Credit Card the refund is within 7 day. Here I am at 12 days, no refund just a run around. Very disappointed in Virgin as I have flown with then numerous times to London.
LonghaulEconomy
RouteLas Vegas
      toLondon - Heathrow
OnDecember 2016
ByMaggie
15th Dec 16United States
      
Virgin Atlantic Review: crew very unprofesional
 
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
heathrow to LAX in june. very unorganized boarding chos and once onboard the crew simply didn't care about passangers much. meals given out without choice no refills on drinks.second service non exitent and trying to get another drink you had to get up and ask.cabin crew slow at collecting the rubbish and the meal trolley blocking access to the toilets.they alo don't like you using the call bell if you need something. better still bring your own picknick and a Walkman for your flight.
LonghaulBusiness Class
AircraftBoeing 747
RouteLondon - Heathrow
      toLos Angeles
OnOctober 2016
Bymarcelo rozengurt
27th Oct 16
      
Virgin Atlantic Review: didn't get seats we booked
 
Overall: 2/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
First time flight with virgin economy. Paid for seat allocation, but didn't get seats we booked. Worst economy seating ever, very very uncomfortable seats will stick to us airways in future we go to America every year this flight was from Manchester to Atlanta came back yesterday back and legs still stiff never again will I use Virgin Atlantic. Expensive as well. Food was not good either surprised really thought it would have been a lot better staff were ok, no better than any other crew plane was quite tatty seats were appalling second leg with Delta much better only short flight into pensacola much better all round from checking in to landing.
LonghaulEconomy
RouteManchester Ringway
      toAtlanta
OnMay 2016
ByMpickavance
28th May 16United Kingdom
      
Virgin Atlantic Review: last flight ever
 
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
crew refused to offer preflight drinks in premium economy and their service was no different than in economy class took ages to get a glass of wine entrees were not hot enough and they reheat it after complaining hard on them food was disgusting and also the 747s are too old now avoid flying with this airline if possible on routes which use the 747
LonghaulPremium Economy
AircraftBoeing 747
RouteLos Angeles
      toLondon - Heathrow
On
Bymarcelo
15th Feb 16
      
Virgin Atlantic Review: Noticing a back slide
 
Overall: 7/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
I fly Premium Economy and sometime Upper Class several times a year, always from Dulles to Heathrow. The food is definitely on the decline; there seems to be more entertainment systems out of whack, and it's impossible to get a coffee refill in the morning. Upper Class used to offer massages and manicures and the opportunity to shower and eat breakfast at the airport upon arrival. No more. It's still my goto. Better than the competition. I was interested in the story of the couple who was kicked off because of swollen feet. Similar thing nearly happened to me when hubby mentioned he wanted to plug in his cPAP machine in Upper Class. Suddenly we were treated as medical emergencies. Due to a flight attendant manager with common sense, we were allowed to fly if and only if I agreed to stay awake the entire time to make sure hubby was breathing. But our luggage had already been removed and it took 2 days to be delivered to our London hotel.
LonghaulPremium Economy
RouteWashington Dulles (IAD)
      toLondon - Heathrow
OnJanuary 2014
Byemma
26th Jan 16United States
      
Virgin Atlantic Review: Mr very annoyed
  -1 votes
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Have flown with this company many times all in upper class, this time will be the last. Four drunken passengers in the cabin, out of control. They were well oiled, and very loud, started to throw fruit about and being a general pain! Never have had this in upper class all the times we have flown with them. The flight crew did nothing to stop this. Find another company. BA are far better, they would not have entertained these out of control mindless people. Avoid at all cost.
LonghaulBusiness Class
AircraftBoeing 767
RouteManchester Ringway
      toLas Vegas
OnOctober 2014
Bybudvizer
17th Oct 15United Kingdom
      
Virgin Atlantic Review: Virgin Atlantic service
  -1 votes
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Dumped off a Virgin flight with no help, yes believe it. It takes time to earn silver member status and yes you could say that you needed to be happy with Virgin Atlantic to have flown this much with them and yes we were. Then in February we flew to Barbados with them in premium economy not much to complain about other than the food quality has slowly got to the stage that one look made you leave it on the tray, I could just see Richard eating it. Getting the flight home was another story, standing and waiting an hour to get through to the airport entrance in temps of 80 degrees with four flights leaving at about the same times, was a problem and the heat caused my wife's feet to swell. So we tried to upgrade to upper class to be told no seats were available, my wife just wanted to put her feet up to reduce the swelling. We were already in premium economy and were told to ask for a little more leg room on the flight. We boarded the plane got shown to our seats and my wife asked the stewardess if there was a bit more leg room anywhere to put her feet up. Then was asked what was wrong with her she replied standing in the heat has made my feet swell, the stewardess said you can't fly with swollen feet as this can cause you a problem. My wife explained that we are silver members and to get that, have flown many times and assured her that she does not suffer with swollen feet when flying. The stewardess said she would ask for medical advice, on returning she said I have to put you off the flight, my wife said if you need me to sign a disclaimer saying I fly at my own risk, I will do so as I know the swelling will go down when I put my feet up. The stewardess said someone will come to escort you both off the flight and the Virgin rep will take care of you back in the airport, your luggage is now being removed and you will need a doctors letter before we will let you fly. We are taken to the airport customs and left in the middle with our cases my wife still standing on swollen feet. The Virgin guy that took us back to the airport said ok I am off, we said where is the Virgin rep that's going to help us, walking away he said there isn't one. Can you now imagine standing in an airport with no help no where to stay three cases and a wife with swollen feet, just think hard before flying Virgin we have just booked BA. The one really good thing was, we had stayed at Sandals in Barbados and phoned to tell them what had happened, they sent a car to collect us gave us a room took us to a doctor who said we were fit to fly, now this is service. Virgin just left us and on complaining about what happened they thought it so trivial that they gave us 8000 flying miles each. The problem with airlines is they think they are too big to get hurt by social media and as for customer service they tend to think it doesn't matter anymore. Virgin and their staff were at one time very customer friendly this has now changed, they now are very much take it or leave it and the service has gone and the staff think they are better than the passengers. I did send two emails to Virgin customer service and gave them a chance to give me an answer that I could at least get my head around. Maybe like, we will check into this and this should not have happened, you being left at an airport with no help after being told a rep would take care of you. Or we will check on who told you there was a rep at the airport to help when we were told later that Virgin don't have a rep at that airport. The Virgin answer was after my second email as good as, we have given you 8000 miles each and if this doesn't cover your extra costs claim off your travel insurance. To sum this up we are not complainers and were not looking for money back but answers. So remember if flying Virgin this can happen to you as they don't think its worth checking into but you may get 8000 flying miles to throw away, because you won't want to fly with them again
LonghaulPremium Economy
RouteBGI
      toLondon - Gatwick
OnApril 2015
ByL Berry
3rd Apr 15
      
Next Page►
 
1 2

Airreview Add Review
Submit your own review
Overall score: Roll over & click to set score Select HERE or below: 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Title:
Review:

Name: Email:
(Your Email address is not displayed on the site)   

Optional information: Would you recommend this airline to a friend?
Class: Distance:

Optional Ratings: You don't have to tell us about this, but it would help make your review stand out
Food: Roll over & click for score Drink: Roll over & click for score
IFE: Roll over & click for score Seat: Roll over & click for score
Cabin Crew: Roll over & click for score Value for Money: Roll over & click for score

Optional Details: Leave blank if your're in a hurry - but it helps if you want to let us know
Aircraft:

Where did you fly from and to?
to:

Enter the 3 letter IATA Airport Code (This information is optional - leave blank if you do not know it)

I live in:        When you flew:
Optional Photos: Add some images to illustrate your review
Image 1:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 2:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 3:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 4:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 5:
Link to image:
Description:
Enter the URL (website address) where the images are stored. You should only link to photos you own, and for which you own the copyright. We are working on hosting images too, but don't have that capacity right now.
Add more detailed ratings of food, IFE & seat
Add more information about your trip
Add photographs


  Return to Editor's review & opinion on Virgin Atlantic