AirlinesStarAllianceoneWorldSkyteamOthersNewsSeatmapsLoungesForumContact

Finnair Reviews

OverviewFleetEntertainmentExperienceFrequentFlyerLoungesRoutesHistoryTipsFoodDrinkYourReviewsDiscuss
Airline reviews Finnair Passenger Reviews

Finnair passenger reviews

  Would you like your say on Finnair? If you would like to contribute, please write your own review & trip report. Reviews are contributors opinions alone, but as the editor I may cut comments violating the terms & conditions ).
Airreviews opinion
Finnair: a three star airline 3 Star Rating: OK, not bad

Your reviews
Finnair
Rated 3.5 out of 10 from 22 reviews
Recommended by 57% of reviewers (4 for, 3 against, 4 abstain)
Seat
 3.6
Food
 3.6
Drink
 3.6
IFE
 3.2
Service
 3.8
Value
 4
Longhaul
3.4
Econ
4.6
Biz
Domestic
0
Econ
0
Biz
stars  total
0-1
 5
2-3
 2
4-5
 2
6-7
 2
8-9
 1
10
 11


More reviews►
Finnair Reviews 11 reviews, showing 1 to 10
1 2
Finnair Review: A petty airline
 
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
This airline has a nice direct flight from San Francisco to Helsinki, and its aircraft are fairly new and clean. Underneath these positives is a meanspirited attitude by management toward passenger service. The food is horrible. Passengers were informed that schoolchildren designed the meals. A cynical attempt to make bad food less bad? The coffee was bad. Flight crew was good and the seat pitch was good. the flight crew announced that all merchandise was 20 off during the flight. I tried to buy a gift for my son, but they were out. I tried to order later online for the same price, but their manager wrote a special email for me and said that discount was only for preordered items. They don't understand a rain check, and it wasn't worth arguing. When I had to reschedule my flight, they really took advantage. They charged hundreds of euros, even though it was weeks before the flight. Not like some other European airlines.
LonghaulEconomy
RouteSan Francisco
      toHelsinki
OnSeptember 2017
Bydisappointed
5th Oct 17United States
      
Finnair Review: Never again!
 
Overall: 4/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Not possible to adjust temperature at seat! We were seated in row 22 A And C and we were very HOT. People in middle had blankets on. Reading lights didn't work. Entertainment very limited no music available, 2 old tv shows, and a very few awful movies. Paid more money as these were to have more legroom but don't think they did.
LonghaulEconomy
AircraftAircraft: 340
RouteHelsinki
      toMiami
OnAugust 2016
ByPatti
28th Aug 16United States
      
Finnair Review: Finnair charges rebooking fees if you miss their tight conne
 
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Dear friends,I would like to share my experience in Helsinki less than a month ago i.e. May 22,2016. I had a 40 minutes connection between the flights from Moscow to NYC. Because the hand luggage screeners were so slow I did miss that connection. To add insult to injury Finnair slapped me with 125 euros rebooking fee. All my pleas about slowness of the hand luggage screeners fell on deaf ear( altough my argument was pretty loud). They were pretty straightforward "No fee, there will no rebooking, I am stuck to enjoy the Helsinki airport for good". Pure blackmail and extortion. On top of that they offered no rebooking option. They rebooked me on the same flight leaving in 24 hours. So beware of Finnair connections. Be prepared to have extra 125 euros in rebooking fees in case you miss your connection through no fault of yours. Been there, sharing first hand experience.
LonghaulEconomy
On
BySlava Stepashkin
8th Jun 16United States
      
Finnair Review: Damaged Baggage
 
Overall: 6/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Flights were fine, damage to baggage was the issue, After reporting damage at Heathrow I wrote to Finnair as follows."Prior to departing Singapore on 05 Feb we booked in four pieces of luggage on AY82 booked through on AY831 from Helsinki to London. Following arrival at Heathrow we found our four bags left unattended by the belt despite the fact no other bags had reached the belt. We immediately noticed the two smaller bags had been damaged beyond repair. Please note these bags were less than two years old and in perfect condition when handed in. We contacted Global Baggage Solutions who act on your behalf. They agreed both bags were damaged beyond repair and informed us if it had been any of the major airlines involved they would have been able to immediately replace our bags. For now it seams they are just ignoring my claim.
LonghaulBusiness Class
AircraftAircraft: 340
RouteSingapore - Changi
      toLondon - Heathrow
OnFebruary 2014
ByPhil Medway
10th Mar 16Singapore
      
Finnair Review: Delayed, and lost our bags
 
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
After Finnair changed our flights they forced us to wait at Chicago at 9am instead of 4am, then they lost our luggage! For six days I awaited news of my bags, without any person giving any information. There were a long series of phone calls and emails unanswered.
LonghaulEconomy
RouteHelsinki
      toChicago
OnJuly 2015
ByJHKim
30th Jul 15
      
Finnair Review: Finnair disapoints four times
 
Overall: 2/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
We have had 4 long haul flights from Australia. We chose Finnair to visit Finland as it was my husband's birthplace. Thank goodness our relatives and the people of Finland more than made up for the experience of flying with this airline. Food , seats and service were horrible . The next time we visited Finland we arranged our flights so we did not travel with Finnair. The Finns and their country are wonderful so I fail to understand the service on Finnair.
LonghaulEconomy
On
ByDulcie Lehtonen
25th Jul 15Australia
      
Finnair Review: No Class in Business Class
 
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
HELHGK A340. Purchased business class only to sleep on long onite leg after arduous day of travelling. Seat did not recline. Broken. Frozen in upright. Cabin full. Unable to change. Sat up all night in considerable discomfort. Wrote to Finnair. They replied that as my seat "seemed to be uncomfortable" they would offer me EUR150, later increased to EUR200, compensation.How do I feel? Cheated.
LonghaulBusiness Class
AircraftAircraft: 340
RouteHelsinki
      toHong Kong
OnSeptember 2014
ByJohn Allen
23rd Jun 15Australia
      
Finnair Review: Finnair to Helsinki and singapore
 
Overall: 7/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Flew out on the 10th Feb from London HR business class late afternoon. Nice meal and drinks in Cathay Pacific lounge (noodles cooked fresh to order). Airbus A320 with middle seat free as they do not have business class for short haul. Food O.K. and nice crew. food average. Left Helsinki for Singapore at 11.55pm Lounge was fine but no spirits after 9.00pm and limited food. Wine and beer on offer. Nice food and drink on the plane but the options for entertainment are not great. Biggest problem is the "sloping beds". get the A350 soon, as this holds back this airline. Came back the same way. No real problems.
LonghaulBusiness Class
AircraftAircraft: 340
RouteLondon - Heathrow
      toSingapore - Changi
OnFebruary 2014
ByJon Francis
4th Mar 14United Kingdom
      
Finnair Review: Smooth and efficient, but no decent movies
 
Overall: 5/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Took Finnair down to Singapore; no problems at checkin with only a short wait, but the airplane was pretty old and tired, with only movies on a loop, and a crew who really didn't seem to want to bother all that much just dumped the food and left us to it, and didn't clear trays for hours.
LonghaulEconomy
RouteHelsinki
      toSingapore - Changi
OnNovember 2013
ByAnya
25th Nov 13Australia
      
Finnair Review: Very basic hop to Helsinki
  +1 votes
Overall: 3/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Not the best airline down the back in economy simple seats, no IFE, and only a basic bread roll for breakfast, and only a slightly larger one for dinner on the way back.Check in was efficient, luggage arrived within minutes, and the plane was on time, so can't really fault it.
ShorthaulEconomy
AircraftAirbus A320
RouteLondon - Heathrow
OnOctober 2013
ByMichael C
25th Nov 13United Kingdom
      
Next Page►
 
1 2

Airreview Add Review
Submit your own review
Overall score: Roll over & click to set score Select HERE or below: 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Title:
Review:

Name: Email:
(Your Email address is not displayed on the site)   

Optional information: Would you recommend this airline to a friend?
Class: Distance:

Optional Ratings: You don't have to tell us about this, but it would help make your review stand out
Food: Roll over & click for score Drink: Roll over & click for score
IFE: Roll over & click for score Seat: Roll over & click for score
Cabin Crew: Roll over & click for score Value for Money: Roll over & click for score

Optional Details: Leave blank if your're in a hurry - but it helps if you want to let us know
Aircraft:

Where did you fly from and to?
to:

Enter the 3 letter IATA Airport Code (This information is optional - leave blank if you do not know it)

I live in:        When you flew:
Optional Photos: Add some images to illustrate your review
Image 1:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 2:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 3:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 4:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 5:
Link to image:
Description:
Enter the URL (website address) where the images are stored. You should only link to photos you own, and for which you own the copyright. We are working on hosting images too, but don't have that capacity right now.
Add more detailed ratings of food, IFE & seat
Add more information about your trip
Add photographs


  Return to Editor's review & opinion on Finnair