AirlinesStarAllianceoneWorldSkyteamOthersNewsSeatmapsLoungesForumContact

Etihad Airways Reviews

OverviewFleetEntertainmentExperienceFrequentFlyerLoungesRoutesHistoryTipsFoodDrinkYourReviewsDiscuss
Airline reviews Etihad Airways Passenger Reviews

  Would you like your say on Etihad Airways? If you would like to contribute, please write your own review & trip report. Reviews are contributors opinions alone, but as the editor I may cut comments violating the terms & conditions ).
More reviews►
Etihad Reviews 33 reviews, showing 11 to 20
1 2 3 4
Etihad Review: OK airline, but certainly not the best
 
Overall: 7/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
I've flown on many airlines, and I would put Etihad around the middle of the bunch. It is OK, it does a decent job, but it all seems to come apart mid air sometimes.On the flight from London to AUH today, the aircraft was brand new which was great. However the flight was completely full, but the crew just seemed to stand around chatting, rather than helping passengers get seated. It took and age about three hours before the meal service got to my seat. But the food was very good. Great movies to watch too. But then they trays weren't collected for hours, until pretty much the snack came round two hours before landing, just when we were trying to sleep. Etihad try, bless them, but some elements of the service on board need work.
LonghaulEconomy
On
ByMichale Miller
15th Jul 16Australia
      
Etihad Review: Worst Middle Eastern Airline
 
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
I should have worked out that this airline would be a problem at booking. The Etihad website didn't accept my credit card so I had to book on Expedia same card and price with no issue. This is where it started as I was no longer an Etihad customer, simply a travel agent booking, a fact I was reminded of whenever I contacted Etihad. Could not change bookings and could not allocate seats on line. I had to ring Abu Dhabi from the USA to get seats allocated. Very tight seats and unfriendly staff on transatlantic flight. We were apparently 8 mins late for the inbound US flight, which would not have been an issue for any other airline. The US pre check that Etihad has is apparently the reason, but US border protection don't seem to check on other airlines maybe they know something we don't! Of course, this was now a revenue generating opportunity for the airline and they were happy to change us for two days later for 3800. Ironically, about the cost of a new airfare. It was actually cheaper to buy a new fare on Qatar, which is what we did. Avoid and pay the extra few dollars to travel Emirates, Qatar or Gulf. Royal Jordanian are also marginally better. I will avoid this airline in the future and recommend all fellow travelers follow suit.
LonghaulEconomy
On
Bydean
2nd Apr 16
      
Etihad Review: Very Pleased
  +1 votes
Overall: 9/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
My wife and I flew Business from Heathrow to Brisbane returning from Sydney to Heathrow. Both of us were extremely pleased with all aspects of the service we received. The lounge at Abu Dhabi was busy but this did not affect the service we received. The staff in the Sydney lounge were excellent. Seating in all aircraft, A330, A340 and A380 excellent and crew were extremely attentive without being in your face. Food was presented well but had been precooked and reheated. We both believed their was a chef on board to cook as required but discovered this was only for first class. Would happily recommend and will use again unless they price themselves out of the market.
LonghaulBusiness Class
AircraftAirbus A380
RouteLondon - Heathrow
      toBrisbane
OnMarch 2015
ByIan Matheso
1st Apr 15
      
Back to editors
review of
Etihad
Etihad Review: Great flight in Business Class.
  -1 votes
Overall: 8/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Business Class is great, with a good product on Etihad, however I did find the crew a bit young and inexperienced. Mind you the food was excellent food and available at any time during the flight. There is also food inbetweenmeals and they reserve a favourite main dish if you want to eat later. All meals were served with proper silverware and it felt like first class! You can choose any course and combination, as much as you like and whenever you like. Excellent Toilets are cleaned multiple times, and it was never a problem getting access.Great sleep on 100 flat beds, but the TV screens and entertainment limited with only hollywood films.Amenity kit complete with socks, ear plugs, hand and face moisturiser, tooth brush and toothpaste of high quality.Alas, the staff seemed to be a bit 'raw' and new, but in generally were polite and got on with the job.
LonghaulBusiness Class
RouteFrankfurt
      toSydney
OnOctober 2014
ByFrank Tightman
23rd Jan 15Gemany
      
Etihad Review: Worst Customer Service in the World
  +1 votes
Overall: 2/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
I have recently travelled from Washington DC to Kathmandu Nepal. Despite hotel reservation confirmation by Etihad I have experienced worst nightmare during 13 hours transit in Abu Dhabi. They never provided a hotel and gave nonsense reason not to provide the facility. I have agreed to buy the ticket only after they assured me I can have hotel. Please be aware about this airline if you have long transit and their customer service staff are rude and provide nonsense reasons. It is very clear that they are trained that way. I have seen a lady passenger in her 60's who spent 12 hours in front of their customer service desk area before taking the next flight.
LonghaulEconomy
RouteWashington Dulles (IAD)
      toKTM
OnJanuary 2015
ByConcerned passenger
16th Jan 15USA
      
Etihad Review: nightmare with ethihad customer service
 
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
on dec 14th purchased a round trip from DFWMAA (DFWFRAAUHMAA) thru ethihad.com for a family emergency. DFWFRA was operated by American Airlines (code share with Ethihad) . unfortunately, AA got delayed for 3 hours and they rebooked me on 15th British, since time is of essence, I booked on a different carrier to leave first flight out on 15th morning and called ethihad for a cancellation and refund. till today (dec 28th) I have not got the refund. first they want the ticket number issued by BA, it was provided, then they want a letter from American that the flight was delayed, which american said it is not their policy to provide them.called and talked to very customer service call centers and every time,supervisor will promise me that some one will call back but that did not happen so far. they do not follow any ethics and respect customers. talked to supervisors, managers but no one is accountable there. it is a nightmare to deal with this poorly structured airlines .
LonghaulEconomy
RouteDallas Fort Worth
      toChennai, India
OnDecember 2014
Bykishiore kumar
28th Dec 14United States
      
Back to editors
review of
Etihad
Etihad Review: Worst customer service
 
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
My family had an international travel on Eithad Airways three months ago. On reaching home, we found that many valuable items (which were bought as gifts) were stolen from our checkedin bags. Their total value is more than 2000. We have been contacting the airline since then but have not received a single response. We submitted the online baggae claim form, wrote more than a dozen emails, made phone calls, wrote a complaint on their website, and did everything but have not received a single response in three months. This is so frustrating and disappointing. Now I have decided to share this terrible experience with others, so they either avoid Etihad Airways completely or do not take anything new in their checked bags.
LonghaulEconomy
OnNovember 2014
BySabiha Zafar
30th Nov 14United States
      
Etihad Review: Perfect service on Chengdu flight
 
Overall: 8/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
I have flown this route in business class many times with Etihad. Near perfect service consistently. Food excellent, superb IFE system, on-board staff very attentive and polite.
LonghaulBusiness Class
AircraftAirbus A330
RouteAbu Dhabi
      toChengdu, China
OnOctober 2014
ByJock
25th Nov 14United Arab Emirates
      
Etihad Review: Etihad Business Lounge in Abu Dhabi
 
Overall: 7/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Reopened about 6 weeks ago, it is large and comfortable and in a totally different class to what travellers had to suffer prior. Suggest a visit to check it out. You can now find a possie to work away or relax.
LonghaulEconomy
OnNovember 2014
ByCHarles Burfitt
8th Nov 14Australia
      
Etihad Review: Worst flight experience ever - should transport cattle
  -2 votes
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
We had chosen Etihad for a round trip from Sydney to Brussels based on their direct and fast flights from Sydney to Brussels, their reasonable reputation and efficient flight schedule. We therefore were prepared to spend more to maximise our holidays overseas in Europe and make sure we are back in time for scheduled business meetings on 20 August 2014. This perception was unfortunately already challenged by our flight from Sydney to Brussels or 18 July, which was delayed by 2 hours and caused us to miss our connecting flight to Barcelona. The second leg of our return flight (EY 450) was delayed by almost 11 hours due to maintenance & technical issues and inefficiencies in change of staff of Etihad. The inconvenience, health impacts and cost caused by the poor quality of lack of care and service made this the worst flight experience both of us ever have ever had with any airline across the world. This also meant that we both missed our first day back to work on 20 August 2014. After being shuffled around the terminal for 11 hours without any updates on the revised flight schedule or reasoning we both felt extremely unwell during the flight because of the extremely bad air condition and heat on the plane itself. We asked the stewards several times if they could improve the air conditioning or airflow. The stewards told us on two separate occasions that this had occurred but we could only feel minimal impact for a very short time period. We asked if my wife (who was 26 weeks pregnant!) could be seated in business class as the quality of the air was substantially better but the stewards refused this request on several occasions, even after my wifes condition got worse. We did not want an upgrade but simply for my wife to have a place where she could be reasonable comfortable and breath easily after the discomfort of the significant delay. We understand that this is not normal procedure but for a pregnant lady of 26 weeks and after an 11h flight delay, I believe that her health and the health of the baby should be taken seriously. There were enough free seats in business class for her to rest.A third key concern for us is the general lack of customer care by Etihad. The flight was 11 hours delayed from the original schedule. During our delay in Abu Dhabi there was no accurate information on duration, cause or measures taken to change any of the outcomes. On our hourly requests, we were sporadically informed that the plane will board in 30mins every time. After 4 hours for the first time we got specific information about a revised potential flight time, which then got pushed back every hour further. There was no proactive information about food or resting areas for the duration of the delay, so most people were shuffled in and out of the boarding gate for the duration of the 11 hours and subsequently sitting in the plane without air for another hour. Even third world country airlines like in Papua New Guinea, offer fairly accurate information and resting areas & food in case of a substantial delay. And to be honest even with third world country airlines I have never experienced a delay of 11 hours! The lack of proactive communication made it impossible for us to leave the airport or find a resting area and caused exhaustion for a lot of people on the plane. With the additional leave we both had to take, we are now out of pocket about AUD1000. There is a European regulation called EC261 that requires all airlines operating in Europe to pay substantial compensation for delays (in our case it would have been 600 euros pp), independent from the consequential damages. We requested this compensation from Etihad but they simply stated that EC261 regulation does not apply because they are based in Abu Dhabi. Doing business in the European Union without adhering to the local rules and regulations is poor business ethics. By simply not complying to local regulations that other airlines have (or chose) to adhere to, Etihad has an unfair advantage over the competition. As this is a rule that European Airlines and airlines with subsidaries in Europe need to comply with, it is fair to assume that a foreign airline, should comply with this regulation to provide the same standard of servicequality which passengers can expect from any other airline. Incredible business practices of the official airline of the Emirates. This is another reason to ensure as many people as possible know about Etihads business practices and interest in compensating passengers after causing them severe inconvenience. The only offer of compensation was some additional guest miles that would not even pay for a free toaster and our taxi fare, which in the end they would not even pay because we forgot to get a receipt when we finally arrived extremely exhausted at home. Their rational for the extremely poor service was that We would never compromise the safety of our Guests even though Etihad staff knowingly compromised the safety of me, my wife and our unborn baby, by doing precisely nothing to support us during the flight to ensure temperature and oxygen levels are adequate. A number of guests complained about the air quality and heat in our seating area. I would consider this as being negligent to keep a pregnant lady that complaints several times about dizziness and lack of oxygen suffering in her seat without any action taken. The customer service team stated I have sourced an on board report for your flight Abu Dhabi to Sydney, however I am unable to find a reported fault with the air conditioning. Upon several requests she could not send us a copy of it and even if this statement is correct, it would mean that the air quality on Etihad planes is generally of very low standard and quality, which is an even bigger concern to me and other potential guests. We heard things like In order to maintain a fair policy to all guests, crew are not empowered to move guests at any time. Interesting statement, as an extremely loud and vocal Arab male was moved to business class after he verbalised his concern in an obviously more appealing way that we did. I can understand that Etihad does not empower crew to move guests to business class (or any area in the plane that is vacant and is suitable seen the circumstances), but there is a big difference between not empowering and not allowing. It is fair to assume that crews are trained to understand the difference between people who just want an upgrade and people who are in trouble and require temporary help. So in the case of a passenger having a heart attack or passes out you are not going to take care of them? My wife was very close to passing out and I can not believe that an airline in the 21st century applies a policy that does not cater for the wellbeing of guests. The last statement was Etihad do not pay compensation but almost all of their competitors do. Unfortunate to know their practices only after our flight, but I am hoping this review will help you reconsider your decision to fly with an airline that might save you 100 dollars in tickets, but has the lowest standards of comfort, customer care and business ethics we have ever experienced. After a number of attempts to get any compensation for 2 additional leave days we had to take, an additional taxi fare, a doctors visit for my wife and the worst jet lag we have ever had, we are now giving up to argue with an airline that obviously has no interest in their customers health or wellbeing. My personal advise to Etihad is to focus on freight only, as their company policies and business ethics apply maximum to the standards of transporting freight, potentially cattle, but certainly not humans! I strongly recommend to book any other airline we have been flying long distance at least twice a year for more than 10 years and this was the first and last time we have ever booked and Etihad flight!
LonghaulEconomy
RouteBrussels
      toSydney
OnSeptember 2014
ByStijn
28th Sep 14Australia
      
Next Page►
 
1 2 3 4

Airreview Add Review
Submit your own review
Overall score: Roll over & click to set score Select HERE or below: 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Title:
Review:

Name: Email:
(Your Email address is not displayed on the site)   

Optional information: Would you recommend this airline to a friend?
Class: Distance:

Optional Ratings: You don't have to tell us about this, but it would help make your review stand out
Food: Roll over & click for score Drink: Roll over & click for score
IFE: Roll over & click for score Seat: Roll over & click for score
Cabin Crew: Roll over & click for score Value for Money: Roll over & click for score

Optional Details: Leave blank if your're in a hurry - but it helps if you want to let us know
Aircraft:

Where did you fly from and to?
to:

Enter the 3 letter IATA Airport Code (This information is optional - leave blank if you do not know it)

I live in:        When you flew:
Optional Photos: Add some images to illustrate your review
Image 1:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 2:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 3:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 4:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 5:
Link to image:
Description:
Enter the URL (website address) where the images are stored. You should only link to photos you own, and for which you own the copyright. We are working on hosting images too, but don't have that capacity right now.
Add more detailed ratings of food, IFE & seat
Add more information about your trip
Add photographs


  Return to Editor's review & opinion on Etihad Airways